Château de Versailles
Château de Versailles – Few places in France can compete with the Palace of Versailles in Paris. Located on the outskirts of the city, the Palace of Versailles was once the former residence of the French kings and now has the opportunity to be followed in the footsteps of visitors and travelers touring France. The Palace of Versailles, a magnificent example of French Baroque architecture, was the royal residence and center of former French rule and is now a national symbol. The complex is located in the city of Versailles and the Yvelines region, 16 km west and southwest of Paris. As the center of the French court, Versailles hosted one of the largest dictatorships in Europe.
Palace of Versailles – Château de Versailles
Versailles was originally a hunting ground and a private residence for Louis XIII and his family. In 1624 he ordered Jacques Lemercier to begin construction of a palace on the site. The walls of this palace are still preserved today as an exterior view overlooking the Marble Palace. It was during the reign of Louis XIV that between 1661 and 1710 this residence became a magnificent complex with French and English gardens around it. All the details of the building had no purpose other than to honor and respect the king. Charles LeBron oversaw the interior decoration of the palace. Garden artist Andre Le Notter built symmetrical French gardens with beautiful fountains that expressed the power of man, especially the king over nature.
Eastside of the Palace of Versailles
On the east side of the palace, Armes Square is a large courtyard that today, in the 21st century, serves as a parking lot for the well-being of thousands of tourists who visit Versailles daily. In the center of the square, facing the street of Paris is a bronze statue of Louis XIV. Originally at the head of the Court of Honor, the statue was moved to Arm Square in 2009 after a major renovation. To the west of the entrance is a gilded iron gate with stone railings that show It has a main entrance to the palace complex. Behind this gate is the great court of Onur, which is surrounded on the north and south by the buildings of the “ministers”; Buildings erected in the 1680s outside the palace complex to house the king’s advisers.
Royal entrance to the Palace of Versailles
The royal entrance, like the gilded gates in great detail, separates the court of honor from the royal court where the statue of Louis XIV once stood. The Royal Gate, which almost redesigned a gate built in the 1680s, was unveiled in 2008. The main gate was destroyed during the French Revolution. Some art historians criticize the royal gate as a modern interpretation of the main gate instead of a real reconstruction, but this gate undoubtedly plays a valuable role in guiding the visiting crowd. We go to the southern part, we reach the Dufour Pergola Mansion. Gabriel’s mansion is also located north of the royal court. Both sites, as tourist reception centers, have been extensively renovated in the 21st century.
On the other side of the royal court is a marble palace named after the white and black marble stones that adorn the floor of the porch. Dozens of marble bas-reliefs depicting Roman dynasties and emperors adorn the entrance to the palace. In addition, the central buildings of the Versailles complex are located around the palace.
The central building of the Versailles complex
The ground floor of the central building was reserved for key members of the royal family. The apartments of Louis XV’s eldest son and daughters were located here. Queen Marie Antoinette’s private apartments, along with the Army Generals’ residence, are also located on the ground floor. The cow’s eye salon, named after its oval window, was a waiting room where the king’s servants waited until he was honored. The hall leads to the bedroom where Louis XIV died and Louis XV resided between 1722 and 1738.
Versailles Palace Mirror Hall – Château de Versailles
Probably the most famous room in the Versailles Palace complex is the Hall of Mirrors. This hall is more than 70 meters long and stands out with 17 large arched mirrors in front of 17 windows facing the lower gardens. Glass candlesticks beautify arched and painted ceilings. On these roofs is a collection of 30 magnificent scenes from the early years of the reign of Louis XIV. Gilded sculptures and reliefs adorn the marble walls of this hall. The Hall of Mirrors ends at the magnificent Halls of War and Peace.
Northside of the Palace of Versailles
On the north side of the palace, a church rises from the heart of the earth. The construction of this church began in 1699 by Hardon Mansar and it can be considered his last important work. The church was finally completed in 1710 by Robert de Cote and hosted daily worship services as well as royal weddings and baptisms until 1789. The north side of the palace also hosts galleries, halls, and apartments.
Royal Opera House
At the northern end of the section is the Royal Opera House, which was built by order of Louis XIV and by Angie Jacques Gabriel. The hall was first used on May 16, 1770, to marry the king’s eldest son (later Louis XVI) and Marie Antoinette. On October 2, 1789, this hall was a magnificent venue for a royal feast and the extravagance of the monarchs. The subject was reported to the people by the revolutionary supporters and the media with great exaggeration. Three days later, an event called the “Women’s Demonstration” forced Louis XVI to relocate to Paris. With this, the scroll of the Palace of Versailles as a royal residence was closed forever. However, the Royal Opera House hosted the French House of Representatives from 1871 until the Third Republic in 1875, and the Senate met here from March 8, 1876, until the return of Paris to Paris in 1879.
Southside of the Palace of Versailles
The south side of the palace, known as the “Princes’ Wing”, was the residence of the relative princes. The site underwent extensive changes during the post-revolutionary period, and the first floor, now in the possession of the Congress Hall, was the House of Representatives between 1876 and 1879. Today, the first floor of the complex is entirely in the possession of the “Battles” gallery. Architects such as Frederick Nepov and Pierre Leonard Fontaine were designed and unveiled in June 1837. This gallery hosts the history of France from the reign of Clovis I to Napoleon. Dozens of paintings in this gallery depict important battles, and more than 80 profiles of well-known military leaders can be seen around the hall.